So much has happened since these pictures were taken

March 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

There is a marker on the base of the camera I used a few weeks ago to take these pictures that says “Designed by Olympus in Tokyo.” In fact, all the cameras I use were either designed or manufactured in Japan. Several of them are sitting here on my desk as I write this, and I wonder where the people are tonight who drew up the plans for them, machined the parts, assembled them, took the boxes out to the loading dock, and issued the payroll checks.

I’m quite addicted to camera news on the Web, and often check several times a day to keep up with the latest announcements about new equipment. Things move very quickly, and just since January there have been well over 100 new cameras. But now the news is about damaged factories, workers injured, and new products postponed.

It’s so easy to get carried away by wondering if the latest Olympus has a really sharp lens or whether that new Ricoh will work well in low light. But tonight the chatter of obsession has gone quiet as I realize how grateful I am to these people–whose lives are now in turmoil–for providing me with equipment that feeds one of my deepest needs.

It’s hard to know what to say, or to whom, in the face of a disaster of this size, but every time I pick up a camera (which I do every day), I think about the people of Japan and say thank you and send wishes for strength.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So much has happened since these pictures were taken at photographs. drew sanborn..

meta

