The trains at Essex

February 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

I had a few minutes last fall to stop by the railroad museum at Essex, Connecticut. I didn’t have a lot of photo gear with me, just a little Panasonic compact camera. But the light was great and the people at the museum were very welcoming, so it was a great half hour.

My grandfather, Art Wilkins, was a great railfan, and was president of the Railroad Enthusiasts back in the 40s. He was also a professional photographer. I inherited one of his cameras in the early 70s and have been photographing ever since.I went on several steam excursions with him and my grandmother, and have always been fascinated by trains.

There are more photos from this shoot on my Flickr site at

Boxcar graffiti

Panasonic ZS3

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The trains at Essex at photographs. drew sanborn..

meta

