Early photographs

October 1, 2010 § 1 Comment

Top: My first real photograph! I took this in the mid 1960s, with a Kodak Brownie Hawkeye that my father gave me for Christmas. I don’t remember reading about photography or seeing any shows at that point in my life. But I must have been influenced by something, because I knew that photographers who were artists took pictures like this. Perhaps I had seen a photo essay in Life magazine or Look. Anyway, I went for a walk on a cold January day and pointed the Hawkeye up a nearby telephone pole to create this design.  I don’t know where the rest of the pictures from that day are, but this little print has travelled around with me for the past 46 years. I still like it. Good eye, kid!

Middle: We move on to the mid 1970s, My grandfather, who was a professional photographer, passed away, and I inherited his Zeiss SLR. Here I am on the streets of Bangor, Maine, just learning that the camera could be a way of not only seeing the world, but also a way of learning something about myself. This is a tiny little Kodak print, and the colors have begun to shift and fade.

Bottom: From the same roll of film. The obligatory first shadow picture. “Wow, I can take a picture of myself! Who am I? Jeez, this shadow picture is a metaphor that life is passing and we are only shadows and . . . ” Well, time has passed and I sometimes still take pictures of my own shadow. And I still am learning things about the world and about myself by looking through the camera.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Early photographs

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Early photographs at photographs. drew sanborn..

meta

