Signature style?

September 26, 2010 § 2 Comments

It’s when your pictures look pretty much alike . . . as if they all came from the same person with the same sensibility. A Richard Avedon looks like a Richard Avedon, a Deborah Turbeville looks like a Deborah Turbeville. But that never interested me. I like too many different cameras and styles and films (in the old days), and post-processing techniques. I’m restless and like to experiment with a pocket camera one day and an SLR the next and then a plastic toy camera and then to put a filter on the pocket camera and change the setting to sepia and . . . well, who cares about a signature style anyhow. Once in a while, I fantasize that I am going to just settle on still lifes or landscapes or that my car will break down in Sabbathday Lake, Maine, and it will be a sign from above that I should focus on a documentary of the Shakers. But you know what, I love exploring and trying new things, and photography is endlessly fascinating to me, so I think I am going to go right ahead doing it the way I have always done it. Someone else can worry about consistency.

§ 2 Responses to Signature style?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Signature style? at photographs. drew sanborn..

meta

