Following a trail of mildew to the past

July 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

I just went to the basement to look for one of my old photos and discovered a bit of mildew beginning to grow on the outside of one of my archival storage boxes. OH, #$%#$^@!! Basements aren’t great places to store anything, especially in Connecticut’s hot and humid summers. Fortunately, the mildew was just a light dusting on two of the boxes, and it hadn’t spread to the pictures inside. Now the boxes have been wiped off with a mixture of vinegar and water and are going to be stored upstairs where there is more light and where the air circulates.

In the process of opening the boxes, I found a notebook I had started way back in the late ’70s. It was a place where I could keep my experimental pictures. At that time, I was still working hard at good exposure and development of nice, crisp black-and-white pictures, but there always was a small rebellious voice in me that asked, “yeah, but what if . . . ?”

In this case, the pictures were taken with a Kodak Instamatic, the film was developed at the drugstore, the pictures were run through the copy machine at the office, and the resulting images were altered with colored pencils and model airplane paint. OK, so they’re pretty rough, but I had a great time doing it and, looking back, I kind of wish I had pushed it farther.

finest

wall stack

handle on it

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Following a trail of mildew to the past at photographs. drew sanborn..

meta

