Boundaries

May 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

Photographing these boundary markers at a local farmer’s field made me think about the time a few years ago when I visited the agricultural facilities at the University of Connecticut. I was busy taking pictures, mostly abstract, of a piece of rusty farm machinery, when a member of the campus security police drove up and asked me what I was doing. I explained that I was an amateur photographer on a Sunday outing. She asked me for my driver’s license and took it back to the cruiser, where she must have radioed in to some central location to see if I had a police record. She came back a few minutes later and was most cordial and said that I could go on about my business. As she was walking away, she said, “We can’t be too careful in these days of terrorism.” I am still not clear why someone taking photographs of a manure spreader in a muddy field in Storrs, Connecticut, would be a threat to Western civilization, but I am  inclined to let the metaphor of the machine itself speak for my feelings. I hasten to add that the University of Connecticut is a worthy institution and that my stepdaughter got a very good education there. Enough talk. Here are the pictures, taken along the bank of the Connecticut River in Wethersfield with an Olympus E-P2 and a 14-42mm lens.

Boundary flags

Cabled

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Boundaries at photographs. drew sanborn..

meta

